Wednesday, June 22, 2016



HARTSTRINGS by L.L. Collins Jaded Regret, #3

Get it for FREE from Kindle Unlimited

Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon AU | Amazon CA



Tanner Hart, the All-American bad boy bass guitarist of Jaded Regret, has one motto— play women’s bodies like he does the strings of his guitar— hard, in tune, and giving it his all until the show is over. The only strings he wants attached to him are the ones he plays on the stage. He has quite the reputation, even with his own band, and he likes it that way. It keeps the truth of who he really is locked deep inside. But there's so much more to him than anyone really knows… Now that he’s successful, he can afford to find out what really happened to the only girl who’s ever held his heart. The only thing is…will he really want to know the truth? When Mackenzie ‘Mac’ Shepard finds herself in a situation she’s been in too many times before, she expects to do what she’s always done— cover it up, accept the apologies, and move on. She knows trying to get out is futile. What she doesn’t expect is for the world famous Tanner Hart to burst into her life like a knight in sexy armor. When their lives collide and hearts get involved, can Tanner keep his hartstrings from being tangled up in his past, or can he make a new kind of music... with his heart?




Amazon/Goodreads Rating:  5/5 Stars
In Patti’s Imagination Rating:  10/10 Stars

Although the author states that this book can be read as a stand alone, I highly recommend reading the series first. It will help to understand the band and their relationships. This is Tanner's book and we met him in the previous  Jaded Regrets series.
Tanner is the bass guitar playing bad boy. He uses women for his needs, and the only strings he wants attached are on his guitar. He hides his childhood from everyone including his band. Other than his way with women, they see him as having this perfect childhood, which is farthest from the truth. That's just how he wants it.
Quote from Tanner-
“I’m leaving, Mom.  I’ll never come back to Tennessee again. I’m moving to Florida to follow my dreams.”
His past is kept locked away until his chance encounter with Mackenzie Shepard.  He finds her in a situation that starts to open up the past he has kept hidden all these years.  This situation isn't new to MacKenzie. She'll cover it up, accept the apology and move on.The only problem is Tanner won't let her.  There is just something about her that pulls him to protect her.
Quote from Tanner-
“Because I can’t be responsible for standing by while I know this is happening.  Stranger or not, I know now.  And I can’t let someone else die at the hands of someone who “loves them.”
Now that Tanner has become involved can he keep his past from his present. Lines are being crossed and blurred. Will he find that he wants to have strings on more than just his guitar?
Quote from Tanner-
“You asked me why I’m here.  Why I care.  Because people should care, Mackenzie.  I can’t forget that I wiped blood from your head and listened to you cry.  Or that I saw the bruises on your neck from being choked.  Real men can’t forget that.”
This book was one that I was not able to put down.  It contains topics that deal with physical and mental abuse. The way the author writes about it, you are experiences the emotions along with the characters.  It was not an easy topic for her to write about but she did a wonderful job. With the roller coaster ride these characters take us on my emotions were a jumbled mess. I was half tempted to toss my kindle a few times. Then there were the tears, you will want some tissues with you as you read this book.  Having the interaction with the supporting characters added much needed laughter as well as unconditional support and love.  Add in several of the unexpected twists and you will be left with a major book hangover.  The author also did a great job with transitioning from past to present.  I also enjoyed that the book was in dual points of view.
I am looking forward to reading the next book in the series as well as other books this author writes.



Previous Books in the Series


Sentenced (Jaded Regret #1)

Available Now FREE on Kindle Unlimited

Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon AU | Amazon CA



Snared (Jaded Regret #2)

Available Now FREE on Kindle Unlimited

Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon AU | Amazon CA




CountdownITSLIVE   ---------------------


Edit 6 soft L.L. Collins loves spending her days in the Florida sun with her husband and two boys. LL has been writing since she was old enough to write. Always a story in her head, she finally decided to let the characters out made her lifelong dream of becoming an author come true in the self-publishing world. She's the author of the Living Again Series and the Twisted Series, plus standalones, Back to the Drawing Board, SENTENCED, and Snared: A Jaded Regret Novel. Visit LL on her website, and on all social media. Look for more of her emotionally charged novels soon!      


Website | Facebook | Twitter | Wattpad | Amazon | Instagram | Goodreads

  InkSlinger Blogger Final

No comments:

Post a Comment